How to Reactivate Facebook

It Takes Just One Step to Activate Facebook Again

Young woman using laptop on bed
Oscar Wong / Getty Images
Was this page helpful?

So, you've deactivated your Facebook account but you want back in the game. Deactivating your account doesn't do much except put a sort of freeze on your information. So, it's really, really easy to unfreeze it and get back in quickly.

Reactivating Facebook means your friends will reappear in your friend's list again and any new status updates you write will start showing up in your friends' news feeds.

The instructions below are only valid if you've deactivated your account, not if you've permanently deleted Facebook. If you're not sure what you've done, either go ahead and follow these steps to see if you can get back in or understand the difference between deactivating and deleting.

How to Reactivate Facebook

  1. Sign in to Facebook at Facebook.com, logging in with the two boxes at the very top right of the screen. Use the same email and password you used when you last signed into Facebook.

  2. That's it! Now, while that is really simple, it's possible you don't even remember your Facebook password. In that case, you reset it:

    Just below the login fields is a link called Forgot account?. Click that and then type the email address or phone number you have associated with your account. You might need to answer some other identifiable information before Facebook will let you in.

It's that easy. You just reactivated your Facebook account and restored your old profile the moment you successfully logged back into Facebook.

Facebook will interpret any sign-in to mean that you want to use Facebook again, so it will immediately reactivate your account.