Delete Facebook Definition and Guide

Facebook thumbs down
Ted Soqui/Getty Images

Definition: "Delete Facebook" is the phrase the world's largest social network uses for permanently deleting your Facebook account and removing your profile and other Facebook activities from the online social network.

It takes a few weeks for the account deletion to take effect, typically 14 days. Once the delete Facebook phase is finished, you will not be able to undo the action, retrieve your Facebook profile or get back any personal Facebook data, such as photos.

Does Delete Facebook Really Mean Delete?

No, deleting your Facebook account does not mean that all your personal data is totally erased from Facebook's computer servers, though close to it. Facebook may still retain some traces of your data; it just won't be visible to anyone.

But it does mean you will have permanently deleted your Facebook account because you will never be able to reactivate the same account later.

Facebook tends to hide its link to permanently quit its service, but here are instructions on how to permanently delete your Facebook account.

The following article explains more in depth about how to close Facebook and shut down an account for good: Guide to permanently closing Facebook accounts.

Also Known As: Cancel Facebook, quit Facebook, leave Facebook, permanently delete Facebook, remove your Facebook account, social suicide, say goodbye to Facebook.